× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Your ClamAV installation is OUTDATED!

p5taylor
Tutor

Your ClamAV installation is OUTDATED!

Dear Netgear admin / fellow Netgear users

My readynas has now for the last year been saying that the clamav is outdated (version: 0.100.2 should be : 0.103.2) and so it doesnt seem to want to automatically update the virus definitions like it use to, causing me to have to SSH in and manually run the update (freshclam -v), this is and can be a pain at times.

I would love to just update clamav to the current issue but dont really know how to. I have some basic knowledge of linux (enough to get me by) and can probabley google how to for the stuff i dont know, does anyone know of or has anyone personally made a set of step by step instruction on how to perform this that i could follow please.

Kind regards

Paul

Model: RN202|ReadyNAS202 2-Bay
Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: Your ClamAV installation is OUTDATED!

@p5taylor wrote:

so trying to log in to do a soft re-start it appears that a different password has been set (not by me)

FWIW, 6.10.5 is now released.  It seems unlikely that it would reset the admin password (esp. a couple of days after the update).

But you can do a clean shutdown by pressing the power button twice.  See page 35 here: https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/READYNAS-100/ReadyNAS_%20OS6_Desktop_HM_EN.pdf

Then power up the system and see if your old admin password works.  If it doesn't then try the default password (which is password)

If those steps fail, you can also do an OS reinstall from the boot menu.  Instructions are on page 37 of the manual I linked in above.

The OS reinstall will

• reset the admin password back to password
  • reset the network configuration to use DHCP
  • turn off volume quota (which can be re-enabled via the volume settings wheel).

View solution in original post