× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

rn104 currently 3 x 3tb, how to increase hdd size to 3 x 6tb without losing data

Asha3110
Aspirant

rn104 currently 3 x 3tb, how to increase hdd size to 3 x 6tb without losing data

HI,

I currently have an rn104 with 3 x 3tb wd red HDDs.    i could add another 3tb for extra storage, but i am thinking of future proofing the storage,  what are the options for increasin the hdds to 6tb each without losing existing data,    how do you add larger hdds and transfer data?     

should i start by adding a 6tb to the 4th slot?  or should i replace one of the 3tb with a 6tb?  if so,  how do you do this?

I am currently set on raid 5.     but must confess, i am not an expert on the workings.  I have managed to add drives successfully over the years without drama.

Also,  if i were to purchase an upgraded nas ( this one is approx 8 years old) and add 2 x 6tb hdd,  how easy is it to transfer data from one to the other

Thanks in advance.

A

Model: RN104|ReadyNAS 100 Series 4- Bay
Message 1 of 5
StephenB
Guru

Re: rn104 currently 3 x 3tb, how to increase hdd size to 3 x 6tb without losing data

@Asha3110 wrote:

how do you add larger hdds and transfer data?     

First, you should have a backup plan for your NAS.  RAID alone isn't enough to keep your data safe - and your volume isn't redundant when you are expanding your storage.

On the mechanics:  To increase the space you need to have at least two of the larger disks.  You don't need to upgrade all three to the same size. 

If you want to end up with four disks in the array, you can hot-insert (NAS running) the first 6 TB drive in slot 4.  After that resyncs, you can hot-swap disk 3.  That will resync twice (the second expansion will use the "extra" space on the 6 TB disk).  FWIW, 2x6TB + 2x3TB would give you the same space as 3x6TB.