Reply
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Initial findings with new Duo V2

I've already sent a few posts about my initial experience with the new Duo V2, but thought it easier to put it into one feedback post...

I've previously used the ReadyNAS Duo (V1) for a few years, with a final hardware configuration with 1GB RAM and 2x Seagate 2TB HDDs (ST2000DL003)

So, back to the new Duo V2 (running arm 5.3.2), this was the RND2000-200EUS (diskless) model - I'm UK-based, but there doesn't appear to a UK SKU, but the EU model does include a UK and Euro power cables...

Hardware Compatibility List:
This doesn't appear to have the 2TB version of my previous Seagate HDDs, but does have the 1.5TB version, so I initially installed the two ST2000DL003 drives.
I later replaced these with Western Digital (WD20EARX) 2TB HDDs (see below why)...

GUI:
Loads much faster, bit more bling, simpler to navigate, etc...
However, having been used to Front View, it is a bit limited. I can understand this, as it probably targetted to the home-user more than the pro-sumer...

Performance:
Read/writes over the network greatly improved - 40-50MB/s... However, going back to the GUI - you can't adjust the MTU, and currently it is not set up for Jumbo Packets ('ping -f -l' can easily prove that), would this improve performance?
(Works great over wireless too - but didn't benchmark).

DNLA:
I guess still under development - if you modify a file (e.g mp3 ID tag), it will still broadcasts the original version. Going back to the GUI - there is no option to 'Rescan Media'... Hopefully resolved with new firmware.

ReadyNAS Remote:
Doesn't work with iOS devices (iPhone/iPad, etc) as yet. Hopefully resolved with new firmware.

Volume Scan (i_block errors):
Here's my main issue - which might be a problem with my particular Duo V2...
When I did a Restart with Volume Scan, I would get a notification email about 'Volume scan found and corrected errors'. These errors were all related to: Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes - Inode 26181655, i_blocks is 739472, should be 739480. Fix? yes (for about 4-10 different Inode/i_block references). This occured after heavy writes made to the Duo. Once the Volume Scan corrected these errors, subsequent restarts had no errors until a large amount of more data was copied to the Duo.
I initially thought this was due to the Seagte drives not being on the HCL, so went out and purchased two new WD drives (WD20EARX) that were on the HCL... I rebuilt the Duo (volume build takes about 7 hours!). However, as before - started to get the same i_block erros on restart/volume scan... I've just reinstalled the arm 5.3.2 firmware and kicked off a factory reset, so we'll see what happens next...

Summary:
Much improved performance,but still early days in terms of the firmware... Fustration at possible RMA for a brand new (week-old) Duo V2...

Can someone please shed more light on these Inode/i_blocks erros please (below is a last example prior to reinstalling the firmware)...?

***** File system check performed at Sat Jan 7 10:11:28 WET 2012 *****
fsck from util-linux-ng 2.17.2
e2fsck 1.41.14 (22-Dec-2010)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Inode 26181655, i_blocks is 739472, should be 739480. Fix? yes

Inode 26181996, i_blocks is 547568, should be 547576. Fix? yes

Inode 26182037, i_blocks is 671744, should be 671752. Fix? yes

Inode 26182083, i_blocks is 594160, should be 594168. Fix? yes

Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information

/dev/mapper/c-c: ***** FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED *****
/dev/mapper/c-c: 14538/30285824 files (1.0% non-contiguous), 79676625/484573184 blocks
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 38,943
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

tim_hamblin wrote:

However, going back to the GUI - you can't adjust the MTU, and currently it is not set up for Jumbo Packets ('ping -f -l' can easily prove that), would this improve performance?

Yes, Jumbo Frames would improve performance, however performance is already pretty quick compared with Duo v1. Users not knowing what they're doing enabling Jumbo Frames can cause problems. However if you want it you could SSH in and edit /etc/network/interfaces adding e.g. MTU=9000 for the line for "eth0".
tim_hamblin wrote:

ReadyNAS Remote:
Doesn't work with iOS devices (iPhone/iPad, etc) as yet. Hopefully resolved with new firmware.

Install the add-on posted by chirpa:
chirpa wrote:

To use Remote on iPhone/Android (via FTP) on Duo v2, try this add-on: http://www.readynas.com/download/addons/arm/5.3/RemoteiPhone-arm_1.1.bin (enables the FTP service on the Remote network interface)
Future Remote or iPhone will have the option to use CIFS instead of FTP. Not sure when that will go through the App Store approval process.

tim_hamblin wrote:

Volume Scan (i_block errors):
Here's my main issue - which might be a problem with my particular Duo V2...
When I did a Restart with Volume Scan, I would get a notification email about 'Volume scan found and corrected errors'. These errors were all related to: Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes - Inode 26181655, i_blocks is 739472, should be 739480. Fix? yes (for about 4-10 different Inode/i_block references). This occured after heavy writes made to the Duo. Once the Volume Scan corrected these errors, subsequent restarts had no errors until a large amount of more data was copied to the Duo.

Would suggest opening a tech support (http://www.readynas.com/support) case and working with them on this issue. Please post your case number in case a tech support representative sees this thread.

edit: Don't edit /etc/network/interfaces. Edit /etc/default/services. There is a line you can add that should enable jumbo frames: "JUMBO_FRAMES_eth0=0" (no quotes). An OS re-install should disable Jumbo Frames if this doesn't work.
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

Thanks mdgm for the fast response... Will keep you updated as to how the rebuild goes, etc...
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

Install the add-on posted by chirpa:
chirpa wrote:

To use Remote on iPhone/Android (via FTP) on Duo v2, try this add-on: http://www.readynas.com/download/addons/arm/5.3/RemoteiPhone-arm_1.1.bin (enables the FTP service on the Remote network interface)
Future Remote or iPhone will have the option to use CIFS instead of FTP. Not sure when that will go through the App Store approval process.


Tried the new Remote iPhone add-on... That pretty much stuffed up the Duo V2's Add-ons... ReadyNAS Remote either doesn't install if installed after the iPhone Remore Add-ons, or installs with old style purple Netgear icon or a missing icon. If I try to reinstall the arm 5.3.2 firmware, all the installed Add-ons disappear, and there are none available to install (including ReadyNAS Photos II).

If I try to install the iPhone Add-on again I just get a 'Failed to install Add-on' message. However, the Logs say the 'Add-on installed successfully' and then the Add-ons then reappear - very strange behaviour... The ReadyNAS Remote icon remains the old style purple Netgear icon, not the Remote folder style icon... Removed ReadyNAS REmote Add-on and reinstalled it - I now have jigsaw piece style icon... Strange?
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

Just read other posts about issues with RedayNAS Remote and Duo V2... Cleared my web-browser (ie9) cache... Rebooted Duo V2, and again - no Add-ons available or installed...
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

Raising a Ticket now - started to copy data back onto Duo V2 - Volume Scan comes back with errors:
fsck from util-linux-ng 2.17.2
e2fsck 1.41.14 (22-Dec-2010)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Inode 28611385, i_blocks is 585088, should be 585096. Fix? yes

Inode 28611393, i_blocks is 717224, should be 717232. Fix? yes

Inode 28611434, i_blocks is 626624, should be 626632. Fix? yes

Inode 28611438, i_blocks is 420616, should be 420624. Fix? yes

Inode 28611445, i_blocks is 623528, should be 623536. Fix? yes

Inode 28611515, i_blocks is 726496, should be 726504. Fix? yes

Inode 28611538, i_blocks is 501496, should be 501504. Fix? yes

Inode 28611585, i_blocks is 693720, should be 693728. Fix? yes

Inode 28611620, i_blocks is 853008, should be 853016. Fix? yes

Inode 28611629, i_blocks is 558904, should be 558912. Fix? yes

Inode 28611912, i_blocks is 355952, should be 355960. Fix? yes

Inode 28639706, i_blocks is 426088, should be 426096. Fix? yes

Inode 28639716, i_blocks is 585088, should be 585096. Fix? yes

Inode 28639724, i_blocks is 717224, should be 717232. Fix? yes

Inode 28639755, i_blocks is 606064, should be 606072. Fix? yes

Inode 28639803, i_blocks is 726496, should be 726504. Fix? yes

Inode 28639876, i_blocks is 863200, should be 863208. Fix? yes

Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information

/dev/mapper/c-c: ***** FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED *****
/dev/mapper/c-c: 23121/30285824 files (0.9% non-contiguous), 22901818/484573184 blocks
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

Your support request has been saved:

The reference number is 17596606, a representative will reply to you shortly
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

Not impressed with Netgear Support so far - was told that the WD20EARX are not on the HCL for the ReadyNAS DUo V2...
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2 TB 6Gb/s 64 MB No 3
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 38,943
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

The WD20EARX are on the Hard Disk HCL for the Duo v2. If you haven't already please contact tech support again informing them of this and referring to the compatibility list page.
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎2009-02-03

Re: Initial findings with new Duo V2

Netgear Support admitted they were incorrect - I have now sent in Logs, etc...

But now Netgear Support have just closed the case without even verifying things are working - I STILL HAVE THE SAME ISSUES - Volume Scan finds errors after data is written to the NAS, and my Add-ons are not visible!!!

NOT IMPRESSED AT ALL!!!!!

I've openned a new Case # 17615311, and also provided appropriate feedback on the old case...
Discussion Stats
  • 26 replies
  • 264 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 7 in conversation
Top Contributors