× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNas 316- Help for a green newcomer

AndrewWB
Aspirant

ReadyNas 316- Help for a green newcomer

Hi All.

I am a self employed consultant based in the Uk and like many business folk I use laptops for my day to day computing needs. However I was concerned about data security and the need to ensure that electronic materials given to me by clients did ultimately make their way onto our office based server. I ought to add at this point that I work remotely a great deal and am rarely in the main office. I can go many weeks therefore without  touching base and hence I felt I needed something a little more robust by way of back up than simply relying on my laptops, - hence a Readynas with a RAID volume!

However whilst i have been able to use the Nas to back up data, I havent found the  online Netgear articles easy to understand generally. Therefore, and as a complete novice, i have often found myself either unable to make features work as i assume they are intended or fearful that data is not protected adequately or at all. Whilst some of my issues are not important, a couple of matters I feel i really need to resolve.

Firstly Anti Virus/Malware Software. My Nas is running the Netgear Anti virus plus that came with the machine and i have set it to update and scan regularly and update. However is this adequate and is there other software I ought to put on the Nas to ensure data is secure?? Money is not so much the issue here as ignorance as to what to get (if anything) and how to configure it.