× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNas NV+ "Kernel Panic" Error

JerichoT
Aspirant

ReadyNas NV+ "Kernel Panic" Error

Hi I recently got a second hand ReadyNAS NV+, I have 4 x 2TB Drives ready.

However no matter what I do whenever it powers up I am getting "Kernel Panic"

I inserted one drive to test, still getting Kernel Panic.

I am sure my 2TB drives are good

I read an earlier post here to try checking the memory, which I did. The ram test is ok.

What else should I do? I am a newbie so I'm not too familar with NAS. Thanks

Model: ReadyNAS RND4000|ReadyNAS NV+ Chassis only
Message 1 of 12
StephenB
Guru

If you get the kernel panic with no disks installed, then it isn't about the disks - and you've ruled out memory.

Either something is corrupted in the flash, or there is something else wrong with the system board.  I suggest returning the NAS.

Message 2 of 12
JerichoT
Aspirant

I've read elsewhere that it could be a older firmware that's causing issues?

If so how can I check which firmware I am running? Thanks

Message 3 of 12
StephenB
Guru

If it fails with no disks inserted, then the only thing I can think of that might help is a USB recovery. 

https://kb.netgear.com/21400/RAIDiator-4-1-USB-Recovery-Tool

Message 4 of 12
JerichoT
Aspirant

Thanks for the reply

A new update

I am somehow to get the NAS working with only 1 drive (Inserted to the far left drive bay). With only 1 drive inserted I was able to get the drive intialized, booted up, and can be seen in RAIDar. I am also able to connect and configure it by entering the IP address of the NAS.

The firmware of the NAS is 4.1.14

However when I tried to add a second drive next to the first drive its a different story. All I see is "Booting, please wait," and the NAS cannot be found in RAIDar.

Any ideas?

Message 5 of 12
StephenB
Guru