Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: App won’t let me save device names

yaldoo
Tutor

I am having the exact same issue. Did anyone figure out why this is happening?

Model: EX8000|AC3000 Nighthawk X6S Tri Band WiFi Mesh Extender
Message 26 of 69
yaldoo
Tutor

Same issue here. 

Message 27 of 69
cyber_jocky
Guide

In short. No. As you can see, this has been a very serious issue for an unacceptable period of time and Netgear either doesn't car or cannot figure out there own code. Not only do I have this issue but many times, the information that the Router reports ( mac addresses, ip addresses, etc ) is just incorrect, making managing my network impossible and rendering this router a useless POS!. I have been buying Netgear products for many years, but that will never happen again. 

Message 28 of 69
yaldoo
Tutor

Actualy i figured it out on my own today. Maybe Netgear should pay me for figuring out what they could not. It is a glicth in the app software!!!

To fix the issue you have to follow these steps in this order:

1) click on device manager

2) click on the deive you want to change

3) click on edit

4) most important: click on teh pencil next to the devie picture

5) click on any icon or the same one and click sanve

6) click on the name to change it

7) remame what you want it to be

😎 click on save

this is the only way i was able to name the devices and its been 24 hours and it has been fine.

Model: EX7700|AC2200 Nighthawk X6 Tri-Band WiFi Mesh Extender
Message 29 of 69
cyber_jocky
Guide

Did not work. Names gone next day.

Message 30 of 69
yaldoo
Tutor

That is very odd. It worked for me on the nighthawk app. If i go to my computer it is gone but on my app on my phone it is fine. Not sure but they really need to figure it out. It should not be this hard for their tech guys to do. smh

Message 31 of 69
Dehatter
Tutor