Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Nighthawk Mesh WiFi

Welcome to the Nighthawk Mesh Community

Advanced Whole Home WiFi Click to Buy Nighthawk Mesh WiFi 6

2.4Ghz devices won't connect to MR60/MK62 Mesh Router

rogue6
Tutor

2.4Ghz devices won't connect to MR60/MK62 Mesh Router

I've been having a lot of issues getting any devices that only operate on the 2.4Ghz band to connect to this router.  I have a Roomba model E3 that won't connect.  I have a brand new LG Washer and Dryer that won't connect.  Finally today I bought some Feit Smart Bulbs to use around the house, and they won't connect, either.

I did some searching in these forums and came across some advice on how to set up a separate network (SSID) on my router specifically on the 2.4GHz band, but it seems this process is no possible on my model (MK 62/MR60).  This only seems to be possible on the models listed on the page, MK83/MR80/MS80:

https://kb.netgear.com/000063027/Can-I-create-separate-2-4GHz-and-5GHz-SSIDs-on-my-Nighthawk-Tri-ban...

Is there any way to do something similar for the MK62/MR60 set of mesh routers?  I don't see any setting anywhere in the router settings to specifically set an SSID to only operate on the 2.4GHz band.  The instructions I linked mention going to ADVANCED SETUP>CUSTOMIZE NETWORK, but CUSTOMIZE NETWORK is not available in my router software.  I'm stuck.  I bought this router after reading that it specifically says it's backwards compatible with 2.4GHz devices, but I suspect it keeps defaulting to the 5GHz band during their setup, causing many of them to fail.  I need a workaround.  Can anyone give me some help on this?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 9
plemans
Guru

Re: 2.4Ghz devices won't connect to MR60/MK62 Mesh Router

what modem/gateway do you have? 

I've had a couple devices that wouldn't connect to my mesh network but its gotten a lot better.