× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Geo-filter

harabuji
Tutor

Geo-filter

I actually have the XR1000 rather than XR700 but I believe the answers are similar.

I'm a beginner at the DumaOS so I have some questions that hopefully get answered. Regarding the Geo-Filtering for console, it seems that everyone I play with gets banned before I get the chance to start a game with them, until I allow them manually. Is there a way that it allows people to play with me automatically? Also using the Geo-Filter I can see where the server is located but its on the otherside of the country. Should I make the circle large enough for the server to be inside for better connection?

Model: XR700|Nighthawk Pro Gaming Router
Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
Netduma-Fraser
NetDuma Partner

I wouldn't have it that wide, say for example you just want East Coast then make the radius big enough to encompass the whole coast but so that everything outside that is blocked. You could also use a Polygon instead to draw the area you want.

View solution in original post

Message 14 of 15

All Replies
Phantomblu
Apprentice

You need to take the tick off filtering mode and allow their IPs. Only after that can you possibly put the filter mode back if your friends have the same IP. Otherwise you will have to repeat the operation. My advice is that when you play with them it leaves the filtering mode disconnected.

Model: XR500|Nighthawk Pro Gaming Router
Message 2 of 15
Netduma-Fraser
NetDuma Partner

Take a look at the bottom of this guide: http://support.netduma.com/en/support/solutions/articles/16000077072-dumaos-optimal-settings-guide-g... it will let you know how to allow your friends so that you can connect to them when you are using filtering mode. Could you provide a screenshot of the Geo-Filter when you see the server outside your radius please? Then I can best advise.