× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Setting up Access Point

Hedake
Aspirant

Setting up Access Point

Hi,

TLDR - How do I setup a Nighthawk X6 to act as an access point for an XR500 (Main Router)?

Overview

I just installed a XR500 as the main router in our house. I would like to setup our old router (Nighthawk X6) as an access point in another part of the house. Most of the reference on how to setup an access point I have found references the netgear standard interface (i.e. where to go). I am new to this process as well as the DumaOS. Would anyone be able to point me in the direction of a post on how to do this through the DumaOS or if possible walk me through the steps? I appreciate your help!

Thanks,

John

Model: XR500| Nighthawk Pro Gaming Router
Message 1 of 7
Netduma-Fraser
NetDuma Partner

Hi John, just to clarify you want to set up the X6 in access point mode to connect behind the XR500 and use that for WiFi? If so then you just need to connect the X6 to the XR500 and then follow the references you've found to put the X6 in access point mode. You won't need to do anything on DumaOS.

If you want to set the XR500 to access point mode then its in Settings > Setup > Router mode, though I would not recommend this because you would not be able to utilise any of the XR500's amazing features.
Message 2 of 7
Hedake
Aspirant

Hi Netduma-Fraser,

Thanks for responding. You are correct the X6 is the access point. I connect the X6 to the XR500 via cable as the reference says but when i got to the routerlogin page, i get the DumaOS and cannot find an option to set the X6 to access point. Do I need to disconnect the XR500 and just have the X6 online and goto routerlogin with that? Sorry if I am confusing it. I just cant get to where I see the X6 to set it to an access point.

Thanks,

John

Message 3 of 7
Netduma-Fraser
NetDuma Partner

Hi John,