× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Wireless networks not functioning and can't access XR500 dashboard

TheRealOC
Aspirant

Wireless networks not functioning and can't access XR500 dashboard

Evening all, 

Having some trouble with my XR500 and would greatly appreciate any advice. Apologies for the long post, but I'm not a networking expert by any means, and I'm not sure what's relevant and what's not. Many thanks in advance.

Context:

I have a slightly thrown-together star topology in my house. I have my ISP's modem in my ground floor living room, and because of its positioning within the house (and thick concrete walls - it's an old house), I decided to disable the wireless networks on the ISP modem, and run an ethernet cable from it to the XR500, which is in my office on the upstairs level. The XR500 supplies ethernet connections to my desktop PC and an SX10 gaming switch, as well as the 2.4 GHz and 5GHz wireless networks for the whole house. 

My wife works on a laptop downstairs and uses a direct ethernet connection to the ISP modem. Everything else in the house (phones, smart devices etc connects to one of the two wireless networks). This setup normally works pretty well.

Recent Problems: 

1) When checking in on the routerlogin.net dashboard a while back, there were a lot of 'unnamed devices' that I didn't recognise on my Device Manager map. This turned out to be caused by a number of Apple devices in the house using MAC randomization and locally managed OUI addresses (02:xx:xx). This didn't appear to be causing any problems with internet connectivity but it was just bugging me that I had a dozen extra "devices" clogging up space on my network map and making it annoying to manage. So I deleted as many of the ones with an OUI starting with 02:xx:xx as I could, and blocked the rest. Here's my original post on that issue: