× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

XR500 QoS Not Working

TurtleBird
Aspirant

XR500 QoS Not Working

I am having an issue with my XR500 that I am hoping this forum can help solve. 

Occassionally (a few times a day), Outlook running on my Mac spikes to 10-15 Mbps upload. When this happens, it brings both my Xbox and my PC running Discord to their knees. I usually get choppy in Discord and eventually get booted from the server on Xbox. Additionally, sometimes this spike will cause all devices to get only a trickle of bandwidth (0.005 Mbps) requiring me to reset my modem (and to kill Outlook). 

I have tweaked the settings every way that I can to try to prevent Outlook from taking that much bandwidth, but it clearly isn't working. I am not a networking novice, but I am certainly no expert, so I am hopeful someone else can shed some light here. 

Model: R7800|Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Wifi Router
Message 1 of 11
Netduma-Fraser
NetDuma Partner

Re: XR500 QoS Not Working

Are you using Anti-Bufferbloat? As it's perfect for preventing spikes like those affecting your network. Suggest you set it to 'Always' and 70% for both download/upload and see if that resolves your issue.
Message 2 of 11
TurtleBird
Aspirant

Thanks for the recommendation. I tried this, and it seemed to help (Outlook only spiked to 5 Mbps) but it didn't totally fix the problem, my voice still was choppy in Discord. Would it make sense to decrease past 70%?

Thanks!

Message 3 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

What happens with the setting at 80% then try 90%. 

@TurtleBird wrote:

Thanks for the recommendation. I tried this, and it seemed to help (Outlook only spiked to 5 Mbps) but it didn't totally fix the problem, my voice still was choppy in Discord. Would it make sense to decrease past 70%?

Thanks!

Message 4 of 11
TurtleBird
Aspirant