× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: XR700 wired connections failed

kratch
Aspirant

XR700 wired connections failed

I have been using a R7000 router for several years and just upgraded to a XR700 2 days ago.

Setup was easy, dumaOS is awesome, and I got open NAT on 4 XBOX one consoles!

Well, today all wired ports stopped working.

I have 4 XBONEs wired to ports 1-4 (all in the Halo Room with the router), a 5 port switch connected to my surveillance system and an XBOX 360 on port 5, and an 8 port switch connected to VoIP box and 4 computers on port 6. There are various wireless devices as well.

Today all wired connections just stopped working. Wireless connections were NOT affected.

I suspected a cable and/or switch, but I tried:

rebooting modem, switches, and router - no go

swapping ports on router - no go

disconnecting cables on at a time from router and all switches - no go

connecting xbox to one port with all other net cables disconnected - no go

There is a test which can eliminate my entire wired network as a potential fault: disconnecting new XR700 and connecting old R7000 and moving 2 XBOX one consoles to 5 port switch. Well, I did that and lo and behold everything works great again.

Does anyone have any experience with wired network issues with the XR700? I just bragged on facebook how cool my new setup is and then the shiny new $500 router takes a crap. I'd really like to get it working instead of having to return it.

Model: XR700| Nighthawk Pro Gaming Router
Message 1 of 9
Netduma_Jack
NetDuma Partner

Ah, sorry to hear this. It's worth trying thisL

Then if that doesn't fix it, you'll need to seek a replacement I'm sorry to say. NETGEAR are good at getting replacements out very quickly: https://www.netgear.com/support/contact.aspx

Message 2 of 9
Altsai
NETGEAR Expert