× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Night Hawk AX4 won't connect to internet without static IP

Night Hawk AX4 won't connect to internet without static IP

Following a power cycle of my modem and RAX35 router, I can't seem to get the router to properly connect to the internet. I think I may have narrowed down the issue to the DHCP server, but I'm not a networking expert by any chance. But here is what I'm experiencing, step-by-step:

1. Power cycle modem
  2. Connect WAN cable to modem and power cycle the router
  3. Connect LAN cable from router to laptop
  4. Laptop cannot identify the network and has no internet access. Cannot connect to router through 192.168.1.1 or routerlogin.com
  5. Run ipconfig and see that there's no default gateway showing up
  6. Change the ethernet adapter settings to use a static IP configuration of:
    IP address: 192.168.1.10
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway: 192.168.1.1
  7. Internet connectivity suddenly works and I can access the Nighthawk web interfance via 192.168.1.1

The modem I'm using is a Hitron E31N2V1 leased from Spectrum. If I connect the modem directly to laptop, it works fine. Right now, I'm using a cheap Linksys router out of the box, and it's working just fine. So the problem is definitely coming from the Netgear RAX35 router.

All of this started earlier this afternoon when my internet connectivity died and I tried power cycling the modem and router. I've tried factory resetting the RAX35 with no change. I couldn't even set it up without using a static IP to be able to connect to the web interface.

Any ideas what's going on? I've never experienced this issue with any router I've owned.

Message 1 of 13

Accepted Solutions

Re: Night Hawk AX4 won't connect to internet without static IP