× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Nighthawk RAX120 Beta Feedback

Nighthawk RAX120 Beta Feedback

Let me start by saying I also have the Asus GT-AX11000 router and 2 s10's that I have 802.11ax for testing. I am a Systems Administrator and setup\design networks for a living.

First the hardware, its perfect. Its a 10 out of 10. Nothing needs fixed or changed.

Next is the software. After loging in I was transported to the year 2001. The gui is dated and has ZERO gaming features other then basic QOS. Parental controls nope, built in antivirus....no. Fusion VPN....no. I literally can buy a $50 router that can crush this routers gui. Its like putting lipstick on a pig. Netgear put the most dated and featureless OS on the best hardware. Asus routers gui looks gorgeous, netgears rax120 gui looks like the old netgear I have sitting in my junk drawer.

Netgear why did you not put DumaOS on this? This is a $600 router, the market for this is your Tech enthusiast\gamer. Yet you included the OS that is fit for my mom, the os\gui is for the type of person who logs in 1 time and sets it up. Then NEVER logs back in. This is a $600 router and there a ZERO gaming features in the GUI.

I want to love this so much, the hardware is better then Asus. Its just it lacks even some of the most basic router features. For example with Asus I can see what device on my network is using all my data per day\week\month. I have Comcast an have a 1tb cap. I love being able to see the my son used 50Gb of data using Youtube. It helps me manage my data. Then there is a builtin antivirus from Trend Micro. It includes Malicious Sites Blocking, Vulnerability Protection, Infected Device Prevention and Blocking and Two-Way Intrusion Prevention System. This is FREE. Then there is the little things like schedule reboots. 

Summary

Best Hardware period!