× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Nighthawk (RAX200) Connectivity Issues with Some Devices

mbonetti
Guide

Nighthawk (RAX200) Connectivity Issues with Some Devices

WiFi connections have been inconsistent with some devices, Amazon Echos mostly, but there are other devices as well.  The issues started immediately after setting up the router.

The router is using the latest firmware (V1.0.1.12_1.0.41) at the time of this post.  I have Smart Connect enabled, the equivalent setting was enabled on the Samsung Smart Things WiFi router that I replaced.  This feature is very important to me due to the number of devices I have around my house.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert 🙂

but think that I have narrowed the issue down to the second 5Ghz band.  My previous router had only two bands 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz.  I think I recall reading something about some devices not working well with higher channels, unfortunately I don't recal where I saw this (I will update if I find it)

Setting the power of the second 5Ghz network to 25% seems to have helped but I still have issues.  I can't seem to find a way to disable the 2nd radio, but even if that worked I would consider it a work around, not a solution.

Has anyone else experienced similar issues?

Any suggestions other than disabling Smart Connect and manually updating WiFi settings on each device?

Model: RAX200|Nighthawk Tri-band AX12 12-Stream Wi-Fi 6 Router
Message 1 of 9
mbonetti
Guide

Message 2 of 9
mbonetti
Guide

Everything I thought I knew, I think is wrong.  All radios at 100% and I am having no issues at the moment

I believe that disabling 40/20mhz coexistence and setting radio to 100% power were my only changes.

Other than the "I'm no Expert" part I believe this part can be disregarded.

@mbonetti wrote:

DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert 🙂