× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: No 2.4 Ghz Signal - RAX120

eh12
Star

No 2.4 Ghz Signal - RAX120

So beginning to get to the end of my patience with this router, although it also doesn't help I've written this once and then accidently closed the page *sigh*

I can no longer seem to get a 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi signal from the router, and I have basically changed every setting and also done factory reset of the router.

I didn't notice the issue till Saturday the 1st of February, when I noticed my Sonos system was offline. Investigating there were no devices connected with the 2.4G signal and using the Wi-Fi analyser app on Android my SSID was not showing up. Also the 5Ghz signal was now using a different channel than specified, and only set to a 20Mhz width, this was previously 80Mhz

So I started playing with the settings, first Enabling 20/40 Mhz Coexistence on the 2.4G band, and setting a specific channel for the system to use. No luck, then changing the mode to “Up to 573.5Mps (11ax, HT20, 1024-QAM)” and reverting from WPA2-Personal [AES] + WPA3-Personal to WPA-Personal TKIP + WPA2-Personal [AES], still nothing.

During this I had changed the 5 Ghz band back to a specific channel and at some point, it went back to operating at 80Mhz.

So I then I was getting desperate, and tried enabling OFDMA on both bands, then disabling them and the AX Wifi. Still nothing on the 2.4 G band, so I tried disabling Smart connect and splitting the networks, before enabling the Guest 2.4 G network, which also did not show up at all.

Finally Today (the 2nd) I went for a full on Factory reset, and the 2.4G band showed up again as “NETGEAR 76”. This was with Smart connect enabled and WPA2-Personal [AES} + WPA3-Personal, great I thought so I changed the name of the network back to what I had previously, and now its not showing up again!