× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RAX120 WPA3 "Security Setting"?

coyote3
Guide

RAX120 WPA3 "Security Setting"?

I don't know which Security Setting to use.

RAX120-2-4GHZ-SecurityOptions2019-04-22.jpg

If I undertand correctly, WPA3 is backwards compatible, so (while I as yet have no WPA3 devices) I figured I could set it to WPA3 now for good.

So I set it to "WPA3-Personal"...but then my (Android 9) phone (I'm also a noob to Android) presented me with with an "EAP Options" window which totally mystifies me.

EAP-Method.jpg

Sorry but neither the RAX120 manual or googling was enough for me to get un-lost, please help!

Model: RAX120|Nighthawk AX12 12-Stream WiFi Router
Message 1 of 3

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

When setting it to "WPA3 (Personal)" it sill only allow WPA3 ... no backward compatibility.

Set the router to WPA3 (Personal) + WPA2 (AES, Personal) ... this will allow the WPA3 with backward compatibility to WPA2-AES (only, no TKIP, so probably some legacy devices might fail to associate).

Re-think - the UI is 100% clear! You are misguided by some consumer talk that WPA3 is backward compatible - it is if the access point is permitting. If you disable the compatibility - by forcing WPA3 only - any older clients won't associate.

Ignore the Android EAP-method, certificate, et all - as this is applicable to WPA Enterprise deployments only.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 3

All Replies
schumaku
Guru

When setting it to "WPA3 (Personal)" it sill only allow WPA3 ... no backward compatibility.

Set the router to WPA3 (Personal) + WPA2 (AES, Personal) ... this will allow the WPA3 with backward compatibility to WPA2-AES (only, no TKIP, so probably some legacy devices might fail to associate).