× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Serious Login Security Question???!!!??.

Rubikscube
Aspirant

Serious Login Security Question???!!!??.

I am a newbie here and I am seeking assistance from those of you with more experience on this subject.       

When logging into my routers settings today utilizing the 192.168.1.1 to gain access, I noticed the following message:

" YOUR PASSWORD WILL BE SENT UNENCRYPTED."

User Name -

Password-

Is it me, or should it say Encrypted?  

Message 1 of 5
Razor512
Prodigy

Re: Serious Login Security Question???!!!??.

You can use either a http connection or an https one. By default if you just type in the router's IP, it will simply use the unencrypted connection, but you can force a secured one, though your browser will warn you about the self signed certificate.

Often if you are on your local home network, it is unlikely for someone to be trying to capture that traffic.

If they have that level of access, then your network and devices are likely already deeply compromised.

Message 2 of 5
Rubikscube
Aspirant

Thank you for your reply, It appears that you have much experience in this matter. 

your last sentence though was very troubling and I am hoping you can assist further.

1-How would i be able to determine if that was the case?

2- I read elsewhere that when routers are compromised, things like the "DNS" settings as well as other things are changed. How do I determine this?

Message 3 of 5
Razor512
Prodigy

It was more of pointing out why it is not as much of a concern to not use HTTPS over the LAN to the router on a home network.