× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Should I Try To Block These IP's?

DudeRides
Aspirant

Should I Try To Block These IP's?

Hello,

With two people now working from home, I have noticed some unusual behaviors/slowdowns in browser response. I'm just learning the basics as far as diagnosing what might be improved and looked into the log on board my AX12. It shows a lot of "DoS Attack: ARP Attack" and "DoS Attack: TCP/UDP Echo" and "DoS Attack: SYN/ACK Scan". I can see the IP addresses associated with these attacks. I'm trying to figure out if these attacks might be the reasons for the change in performance/behavior on my browser and what to do to protect against/reduce/prevent them.

Is the first/basic step to block the source IP's?

If so, how do I do that?

Thank you,

Dude

Message 1 of 12

Re: Should I Try To Block These IP's?

Netgear's firmware is great at creating false reports of DoS attacks. Many of them are no such thing.

Search - NETGEAR Communities – DoS attacks

Use Whois.net to see who is behind some of them and you may find that they are from places like Facebook, Google, even your ISP.

Here is a useful tool for that task:

IPNetInfo: Retrieve IP Address Information from WHOIS servers

@DudeRides wrote:

Is the first/basic step to block the source IP's?

Not if you want to use those sites.

Message 2 of 12
DudeRides
Aspirant

Interesting. I parsed through most of the log from Thursday/Friday and indeed most of the IP addresses were from Charter, but there were a few from China and Indonesia.

Rather than blocking IP addresses, should I look for Ports to block?

Message 3 of 12

@DudeRides wrote:

Up to you.

Message 4 of 12
DudeRides
Aspirant

What tool is used to block IP's or Ports? I can't seem to find anything onboard the router to do so...

Message 5 of 12

Check the manual for your device. AX12 could be one of several things.