× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Wired connection speed same as wireless speed

Vinixs
Aspirant

Wired connection speed same as wireless speed

So recently i purchased a Netgear Nighthawk RAX50 AX5400 looking to improve our connection speed for multiple devices. I'm not very knowledgable with networking but I was able to get the network setup. I'm trying to use an ARRIS NVG510 for the broadband connection to get the nighthawk online and working, but upon doing so experienced similar speeds we were getting before. I assume my issue is with the old router/modem we're using, but not entirely sure so I wanted to get some support before spending more money than needed. Here are the speeds I got from the tests, 

Wired:

Down - 3.32 mbps

Up - 0.42

Wireless:

Down - 3.34 mbps

Up - 0.41

Firmware Version: V1.0.2.66_2.0.42

Again, I'm not really experienced in networking but I do have some understanding from research. Thank you for taking the time to help!

Model: Dual Band
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

What speeds do you pay for? 

The ARRIS NVG510 is a dsl modem/router combo device.

Do you have it running in modem only mode, the netgear placed in access point mode, or the netgear in the arris's dmz?

otherwise you can be in a double nat. 

https://kb.netgear.com/30186/What-is-Double-NAT

Something to keep in mind, if you're speeds are only 3mbps, most routers (even older wireless N routers) can max that speed out. You won't see a speed benefit from going to wireless AX since the router wasn't the bottleneck in speeds. 

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 5

All Replies
plemans
Guru

Do you have it running in modem only mode, the netgear placed in access point mode, or the netgear in the arris's dmz?