× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Need help planning my network

Zigma
Aspirant

Need help planning my network

I am pretty new to setting up switches and routers.

My home is already routed with cat 5, and I want to take advantage of that to wire up the whole home.

Each of the 2 bedrooms, my office, living room, and a little desk space all have cat 5 RJ4 ports that go to a box outside on my back patio.  The fiber connection also goes to this box outside on my back patio.

Office

The office has two gamming computers, and a printer connected to the computers via WIFI.

Living Room

The living room has a smart TV, PS4, Xbox One, and a 4k blu ray player and I would like to add something like a NAS to store my movies on later.

the other rooms do not have much of anything, mostly wiring them up because I can.

I was thinking of putting a Netgear Nighthawk S800 in the box outside that will connect all the rooms together and to the fiber connection.  Then put a Netgear nighthawk AC3200 in the office to connect the two computers to lan to the S800 outside and provide wifi to everything else in the home.  The living room I was thinking of a basic non managed switch to connect all that stuff to the S800.

My current setup has a netgear PoE GS108P outside, a Asus AC2400 in the office, and a cheap TP link 8 port switch in the Livingroom.  It works ok, but the netgear outside I got used and has dropped out a few times. The Asus router in the office pretty much acts likes its own network, and cannot see anything else.

I want everything to be networked, and fast enough for 4k streaming and fast games.

Any tips and advice is welcome, thank you.

Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Need help planning my network

@Zigma,