× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Nighthawk M6 Pro Unlocked Hotspot 5G mmWave

Nighthawk 6 PRO ( MR6500 )

elgoots
Guide

Nighthawk 6 PRO ( MR6500 )

It is very apparent that the MR6500 Nighthawk 6 PRO has some critical issues for people who use them fulltime.

• Dropping out of signal (says searching) even though you had full reception and other 4g/5g devices in same location do not drop and have strong signal. Never reconnects just sits on searching. the only way to make it work again is to reboot the nighthawk.
  • Overheating if battery is charging or left in
  • If using ethernet it stops working and the only way to make it work again is to reboot the nighthawk.

I have been a network engineer for 20 years. I have these deployed to many clients and they do not have these issues with the previous models but have it with the 6 and 6 pro.

I have even used a mimo antenna that I can see data logs of that has strong, uniterrupted signal but yet the nighthawk drops and sits on searching while plugged into the mimo antenna which reports strong full bars with no interference. 

This is clearly an issue. There are hundreds of complaints but yet NO firmware releases to attempt to rectify any of these issues which for full time users make this thing a brick. Having to reboot anywhere from 1 to 10 times a day depending is not ideal when you need to wait 5 minutes > each time to reboot.

So what is going on with the firmware from netgear (not from the ISP's)?? Do netgear even acknowledge there is an issue? 

I know its hardware or firmware as I have tried everything available to me:

• Mimo external roof mounted antenna 4g/5g
  • Removed battery running on AC power
  • High performance mode
  • DHCP and Manual static IP as a test
  • Manually configuring ISP WAN details
  • Disabling tethering and Ethernet or WIFI and using ethernet etc and only using 1 method at a time.