Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Nighthawk R7000P and Starlink

aliaa
Aspirant

Nighthawk R7000P and Starlink

We recently installed Starlink gen 2 but need to keep our home wireless system for various reasons. My attempts to use our existing Nighthawk R7000P router with the Starlink router in bypass mode were not successful. Can anyone give any advice about what I need to to do to get it running smoothly? I'm guessing there must be some setting/s that need to be changed in the router, but I'm not very tech savvy and need some very simple guidance. TYIA

Message 1 of 6
plemans
Guru

my understanding of the gen 2 starlink router is that it doesn't have an ethernet port. 

Did you buy an adapter for it? 

Are you putting the netgear in access point mode when you hardwire into it? 

Message 2 of 6
aliaa
Aspirant

Thanks for you reply. Yes, I do have the ethernet adaptor. When the adaptor is being used, the Starlink router is put into bypass mode, so I think I need my current Netgear to still be used as a router rather than an access point. From what I've seen online, it seems as if it should be quite simple: the Starlink router is taking the place of my useless Australian NBN satellite dish and everything else stays the same with the Starlink router being bypassed. But it's not working for me and I can't find any information relevant to the Netgear router we have. It's probably just a setting that needs to be changed, but I'm not tech savvy enough to know what to be looking at in within the router setttings.

But thanks anyway and I'll keep researching.

Message 3 of 6
plemans
Guru

I haven't used starlink and the v2's are pretty new. It might not automatically go in bridge/passthrough mode. 

Have you tried the netgear in access point mode?

Message 4 of 6
bwilt
Initiate