Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

R7000 Access Questions

markinms
Aspirant

R7000 Access Questions

I'm new to this and can't find an answer for my question.

Can my laptops using wifi access a cabled printer?  Or...

Can my desktops using cabled access, access a printer setup on the wifi network?

Using the R7000 printer sharing option is not an option.

Thanks for any feedback!

Mark

Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
TheEther
Guru

Re: R7000 Access Questions

R7000 has wireless isolation, but only for the guest network.

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 6

All Replies
Babylon5
NETGEAR Employee Retired

If the printer is a network printer with WiFi / Ethernet support then yes to both your questions. The only router related parameter that I can think of which may cause issues is ‘Wireless Isolation’ (default is disabled), so check it’s disabled (assuming the R7000 has that feature, I can’t check right now).

Message 2 of 6
TheEther
Guru

R7000 has wireless isolation, but only for the guest network.

Message 3 of 6
markinms
Aspirant

Thanks for the quick responses.

The printer is a wifi/ethernet network printer but will not allow both at the same time. 

Right now all devices/computers are wifi.  Desktop performance  is compromised by doing this; cable internet is 100Mbps, I get half this with wifi.

Mark

Message 4 of 6
TheEther
Guru

Access between Ethernet and Wi-Fi is one thing. We've established that that is allowed.

Wi-Fi performance is completely unrelated and, unforunately, subject to a lot of variables. The capabilties of Wi-Fi adapters in your computer, the Wi-Fi protocol (like 802.11n or 802.11ac), the Wi-Fi band used (2.4 GHz or 5 GHz), the channel width, the channel congestion, radio noise from non-Wi-Fi devices operating in the same frequency, signal absorption and reflection by walls.