Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

R9000 fiber optic connection

ouadasa
Tutor

R9000 fiber optic connection

Hello

i have a fiber optic subscription , what is the best ( and cheapest ) way to connect my R9000. 

Thanks 

Message 1 of 7

Re: R9000 fiber optic connection

@ouadasa wrote:

i have a fiber optic subscription , what is the best ( and cheapest ) way to connect my R9000. 

The router will connect to just about anything that works with your Internet service provider (ISP).

The "fiber" word tells us nothing. Every Internet service has optical fibre in it somewhere. The question is how near it gets to you? Front door? Cabinet up the road?

You should ask your unnamed ISP which modems/gateway/ONTs work on its system.

You could also talk to other people who use the system for their advice.

Netgear does not make ONTs and has given up on modems that work on DSL services.

Message 2 of 7
ouadasa
Tutor

Sorry if i expressed myself incorrectly  , wanted to know how i physically connect my R9000 . Through a converter ( optical to RJ45 ) or through SFP . Thanks again.

Cordialy

Message 3 of 7
FURRYe38
Guru

Yes you can via ethernet. Also could connect it to the routers SPF port if you got a converter if the Fiber device has a higher connection rated feed. https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-Wi-Fi-5-AC-Routers/R9000-Nighthawk-X10-Router-SFP-interne...

Message 4 of 7

@ouadasa wrote:

Sorry if i expressed myself incorrectly  , wanted to know how i physically connect my R9000 . Through a converter ( optical to RJ45 ) or through SFP . Thanks again.

If the Internet connection has an RJ45 (LAN) output, just plug that into the WAN port on the router. That's the easiest option.

I bet you have a cable lying around somewhere. Most of us acquire dozens of these things over the years.

Some people will advise using cables with their idea of "go fast" stripes on the side. Just use what you have got until you find that you need something special. Most people don't.

Message 5 of 7