Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Support in China

frankbuck
Aspirant

Support in China

Hi,

I live in Shanghai, China and recently bought a R7000 here in China.

After unwrapping and connecting it asked for a firmware update, which I started. After that I never get in contact with it again. I'm not an expert but a nerdy friend had it over and said it's completely bricked. No contact at all.

So, reported it online, got a case number and everything, but I have to call support in China for further action. Not speaking a work of Chinese I'm kind of stuck.

Quiestion: anyone know if there is an English speaking Netgear support channel in China? Can I take it somewhere else?

My friend is really nerdy (20+ years of experience in computer and network business) and he has given up on it 😞

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
JamesGL
Master

Re: Support in China

Hi frankbuck,

Click on the link below to contact support.

https://www.netgear.com/support/contact.aspx

-Select "Get help on my NETGEAR product"

-Select your country

-Enter the serial number of your router

-Then select  "I cannot find an answer to my problem, I would like to contact NETGEAR support."

-Select Open an email ticket

View solution in original post

Message 14 of 15

All Replies

Message 2 of 15
William10a
Master

What is the router doing, what are the lights on the router doing?

Message 3 of 15
frankbuck
Aspirant

I will ask him. Thank you for the tip!

Message 4 of 15
frankbuck
Aspirant

This is what my friend wrote me back regarding the firmware update:

----------------------------

Hi, this process (the FTFP thing) didn't even work, because the router is completely bricked.  What is needed now is to take apart the cable, and use a special cable to connect to the router and then to upload the software.  I can't even set a static IP for the computer, because it doesn't see the router.  So, a more drastic intervention is required!