Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Wifi speed 66% lower than ethernet

jbj123
Aspirant

Wifi speed 66% lower than ethernet

My desktop is hardwired (ethernet) to my modem, passing through the router, and download speed is roughly 150bms, with upload roughly 10mps. This is consistent with what the ISP provides. However, using a wifi connection with my laptop right next to the router, and the signal drops to 50mb for downloads (but retains 10mbs for uploads).

If I hardwire this laptop via ethernet cable, it also gets 150mbs, so this is dedinitely not the laptop and not the modem. Any advice on what might be cutting my wifi speed by 66% for downloads, while the upload speed is preserved? I am a bit of a novice here.

Model: R6700v2|Nighthawk AC1750 Smart WiFi Router
Message 1 of 12

Accepted Solutions
IrvSp
Master

Looks like that, single band, not dual.

Easy and fairly cheap to upgrade as long as you have a USB port. I have one... Amazon has many to choose from.  $11 and up here. If you do get one, get one with at least 2 antennea's showing. Single one would have lower speed.  If you want to be 'traveling' with the Laptop then the smaller mini or nano ones would work, just not as fast.

View solution in original post

Message 11 of 12

All Replies
antinode
Guru

> Model: R6700v2|Nighthawk AC1750 Smart WiFi Router

Is that accurate?  Firmware version?

> [...] If I hardwire this laptop via ethernet cable, it also gets
> 150mbs, so this is dedinitely not the laptop and not the modem. [...]

No, the bottleneck may not be the _Ethernet_ interface on your
(unspecified) "my laptop", but that test has not absolved the wireless
interface on your (unspecified) "my laptop".  About which, the
non-psychics in your audience know nothing.

> [...] Any advice on what might be cutting my wifi speed by 66% for
> downloads, while the upload speed is preserved? [...]

A slow wireless interface on your (unspecified) "my laptop" could