Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

X4S R7800 AC2600 End of lifespan?

GodSpit
Aspirant

X4S R7800 AC2600 End of lifespan?

Hello, I've been using the model router listed above for 4 years now. In the last couple months its started to just show all the lights going to orange and basically restarting itself. I know its not an issue with the internet itself because my modem sits on my desk with my setup and router, and the modem never shows any red or orange lights when the router does this. It has the latest firmware downloaded, and to my knowledge is fine software side. (I even factory reset it). I was looking online and saw the typical life span of a router is ~3-5 years. Is this just what routers do when they're breaking down from being old? This is the first router I've personally owned, so I'm not sure when its just time to buy a router due to a hardware issue. Thank you for any help!!!

Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
Kitsap
Master

Re: X4S R7800 AC2600 End of lifespan?

Failure of a USB device could cause the router operating system to crash and re-boot.

Based on your description of events, I believe replacement is premature.  I personally have not experienced a router crash like you are describing.

If the level of reliability provided by your router no longer meets your needs or expectations, replace the router.  I do understand your efforts to be prepared for replacement.

The R7800 has a wide and well deserved reputation of being a long term strong performer.  I would not declare it dead until it is dead!

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 6

All Replies
Kitsap
Master

Electronic equipment can be adversely affected by heat and power surges.  Both seem to be cumulative on a piece of gear over time.

I am running a first year of manufacture R7800.  It sets in the open, lives in a cool climate, and has spent full time connected to a UPS.