250mS ping latency hardwired to R8000 - Nighthawk™ X6—AC3200 Tri-Band WiFi Router

sbell22
Aspirant

250mS ping latency hardwired to R8000 - Nighthawk™ X6—AC3200 Tri-Band WiFi Router

My R8000 is connected to Spectrum Cable in Reno NV.  I have 9mS latency and 120Mbps down when connected directly to the modem.  But as soon as i connect the R8000, latency is 225-250mS making the connection, both for Ethernet devices connected to one of the four ports via an Ethernet Cable, or via WIFi unusable most the time.  Most of today it has been 230 to 250 mS; i just clocked it as 196mS (screenshot attached).

I have isolated the problem toi the router by connecting my Macbook Pro directly to it and running speed tests using different services, to different servers, and different times of days.  It takes me forever to open websites with a quarter second delay on every IP "Ping" and many services/web servers just hang up. 

I studied the past posts in this forum and all i found was to update the firmware, and turn the QoS feature off.  I've never have the QoS on, and firmware was recently updated to v1.0.4.4_1.1.42

I can bypass the Netgear R8000 by connecting one of my machines with an Ethernet cable, then i get screaming fast internet with 9mS latency.  So the R8000 is the problem for sure. 

This problem has plagued me on and off for over a year since i paid over $300 for this high-end router at the local Best Buy, hoping to avoid these types of headaches.  I always thought it was Spectrum, the ISP.  But they sent a senior tech out and he showed me how great the connnection is, so i started testing the router. 

Thanks in advance for any debugging suggestions.

Model: R8000|Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Smart WIFI Router
Message 1 of 25
TerryPh
Virtuoso

Re: 250mS ping latency hardwired to R8000 - Nighthawk™ X6—AC3200 Tri-Band WiFi Router

Follow Case850's footstep.
Downgrade FW to 1.0.3.54 for this R8000 router.
Save you headaches.
Message 2 of 25
sbell22
Aspirant