Highlighted
Apprentice

A Possible Cause of Dropping Wifi Connections

Working on a theory here...

I've had two R7000's for several years and have NEVER experienced the WiFi Connection Dropouts that are frequently posted!  They both started out with the stock firmware, and I had usually upgraded the firmware as new versions came out (and only through the Netgear Router Admin Page Interface... never reset to factory defaults, etc.).  I stopped upgrading firmware when V1.0.6.40_1.1.90 came out and haven't experienced any problems.

Until a week ago...  I had NEVER enabled the Guest Networks.  When I enabled them, I immediately started having the Dreaded Dropouts!  I had also turned on "Allow guests to see each other and access my local network".  But here's the thing:  I figured that toggling the settings back would stop the problem!  Ah... but it did NOT fix it!

So the Theory is This:  Once you enable the Guest Networks (and/or Allow guests to see each other and access my local network), it creates the WiFi dropout problem.  It doesn't matter whether you toggle them back... the problem continues.

Here's How I Fixed It... And I have not had ANY WiFi Dropouts Since!

1. Toggle Off the "Allow guests to see each other and access my local network"
  2. Toggle Off the Guest Networks
  3. Backup the settings
  4. Update to the latest firmware V1.0.9.18_1.2.27 at this time.
    • Note: I suppose if you're already running the latest, consider resetting to factory defaults first, then update again to the lastest firmware and restore your backup settings.
  5. NEVER TOUCH THE GUEST NETWORK AGAIN Smiley Happy

I would be very interested in hearing back from anyone experiencing the frequent WiFi Dropouts as to whether/not they have similar results after repeating the steps above.

Good Luck!!!

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 32
Highlighted

Re: A Possible Cause of Dropping Wifi Connections