Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: After firmware update refuses local browser connect for admin ("192.168.x.1 refused connect

MPotamia
Tutor

After firmware update refuses local browser connect for admin ("192.168.x.1 refused connection")

I have been logging in to administer this router for several years from the local network. Sometimes via local LAN sometimes via WLAN, sometimes via remote into a server I remote into. (Never allowed external administration). I always allow to check for firmware updates, let them install, reboot, always goes fine. Until just now. Allowed it to update itself from [previous version] to  1.0.4.36. (or whatever the current self-update v. is) Then as usual I wait a few minutes, disconnect then reconnect, and suddenly now it refuses connection. No matter all browsers, cache cleared, pings fine, all network services in/out (except browser admin now) are working and the server I'm using is on the LAN of course. (I use teamviewer or splashtop to connect to my server on the lan, but this shouldn't matter - -  The R6300v2 router should see the browser on its internal network, it always has in the past).  

What the hell did they change in 1.0.4.36 that's preventing a browser on my server on my home network from connecting to the 192.168.2.1 ?  And how do I fix?

Thank you - - -

Model: R6300v2|AC1750 Dual Band Gigabit router
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
MPotamia
Tutor

Re: After firmware update refuses local browser connect for admin ("192.168.x.1 refused connect

@MPotamia wrote:

I have been logging in to administer <<snip>>  And how do I fix?

===========

I found someone to go in an power reboot the R6300v2. It now gives login prompt, and all

And firmware on router shows V1.0.4.46_10.0.93, not what I said earlier (I couldn't login to see what it said). Also I thought things were working before reboot just not giving login to browser, but i was wrong, DNS was hosed I didn't realize it.