Re: Assigning a printer to a different network segment

jfaulk
Aspirant

Assigning a printer to a different network segment

Hello - I'm not too technical so bear with me please. Purchased an HP Envy Photo 7155 and set it up to run on the wireless network. It brings the network down....all the time to the point where I keep the printer powered off. Contacted HP support and they tried to get it fixed. Finally they said it was a router problem. Seems the HP wants to be on the same network segment as the 2.4 network and in effect brings the 2.4 down when it communicates with HP (I guess). Any suggestions on how to keep the HP wireless on a seperate segement?

Model: C7000|Nighthawk - AC1900 WiFi Cable Modem Router
Message 1 of 6
William10a
Master

@jfaulk wrote:

Hello - I'm not too technical so bear with me please. Purchased an HP Envy Photo 7155 and set it up to run on the wireless network. It brings the network down....all the time to the point where I keep the printer powered off. Contacted HP support and they tried to get it fixed. Finally they said it was a router problem. Seems the HP wants to be on the same network segment as the 2.4 network and in effect brings the 2.4 down when it communicates with HP (I guess). Any suggestions on how to keep the HP wireless on a seperate segement?

What do you have for a network one single network or two independent networks ?

The printers wifi should lock onto the network of your choice as long as they are not the same sidd if you have two 2.4 ghz bands and leave the other alone.

Message 2 of 6
jfaulk
Aspirant