Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

C7000

Viper300
Aspirant

C7000

I am a complete novice, so bear with me. We have Xfinity GB service and we are thinking of purchasing the CM1150V for the cable modem but we then want to use our already purchased C7000 as the router portion. Will this work or do we need a new wireless router only that isnt a cable modem router? 

Make sense?

Message 1 of 9
antinode
Guru

Re: C7000

> [...] use our already purchased C7000 as the router portion. [...]

Because it lacks a WAN/Internet Ethernet port, I see no way to use a
C7000 as a normal router.  (It should be possible to configure a C7000
as a wireless access point, but that wouldn't give you a router.)

> [...] do we need a new wireless router only that isnt a cable modem
> router?

I believe so.

Message 2 of 9

@Viper300 wrote:

We have Xfinity GB service and we are thinking of purchasing the CM1150V for the cable modem but we then want to use our already purchased C7000 as the router portion.

Can't you use the C7000 as your modem on Xfinity? Is it too slow?

What does Xfinity says about its compatibility?

Message 3 of 9
Viper300
Aspirant

The C7000 will work as the cable modem and router but one I'd have to lowere service plan to 500mb which I'm ok doing, but then we lose voice. I'm looking into what penalities Id incur by cancelling the xfinity home and infinity voice and just haveing cable and internet at 500mb and maybe channel lineup. Then get Voip seperate. 

That way the C7000 will be fine. My son in law said he hooked it up at their house and it doubled the wifi speed. But problem is they didnt have voice, we do. Speeds acheived are only fast if the device has capability so I dont have new enough items to get super fast that 500mb wouldnt be fast enough

but to your question, the C7000 cannot be used as stand alone router with a different cable modem on top of it. I wanted to use it as router function only but......

Message 4 of 9

@Viper300 wrote: