Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Can't access R7000 admin

MurH
Aspirant

Can't access R7000 admin

I wanted to reset my R7000 to factory settings and then change my passwords and SSID name. I am on Mac OSX 10.14.2, and the R7000 has the latest Firmware update installed. I was able to reset the router and put in new admin username and password, but when I try to access the admin, it sometimes makes me repeat signing in several times, and sometimes lets me go to the next step. I eventually get to the part where I can put in my two challenge questions, but nothing ever happens after that. I can't continue past that point ever.

I'm not an expert on this, so does anyone know what I should do next? I've tried resetting the router a number of times and doing a factory reset a number of times as well. I can access it from my iphone, but not the admin stuff.

Model: R7000|AC1900 Smart WIFI Router
Message 1 of 25

Accepted Solutions

@MurH wrote:

Now here's the stupid question of the day . . .

In the circumstances, more a stupid answer on my part than a stupid question.

The only thing I can think of is to disconnect the router and your PC from the outside world.  Factory reset the router. Plug the PC into the router. Boot the router. Boot the PC. Use a browser to access the router. This is likely to cause the start up genie/wizard to kick in. Work out how to dismiss it and take things from there.

An alternative, which you should not need, is the old standby for a bricked router. TFTP.

How to upload firmware to a NETGEAR router using Windows TFTP | Answer | NETGEAR Support

View solution in original post

Message 19 of 25

All Replies
Nodism1125
NETGEAR Expert

Message 2 of 25
MurH
Aspirant

Thanks for the reply - admin and password dont work either.
Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 3 of 25
Thinkster
Apprentice