Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Creating a custom DNS Server

VJOGuy
Aspirant

Creating a custom DNS Server

Keeping in mind that I'm a novice with routers and such...  I've been told I need to create "Custom DNS Server" on my Netgear router.  I have zero idea how to do this, or even what it means.

Would anyone be able to provide me with step-by-step guidance on that?  Googling it is just creating more confusion with terms like Dynamic DNS and Static DNS, etc.  As I mentioned, I'm clueless with this stuff!  I do know how to log in to my Router web interface and engage in very minor tweaks.  But that's it!

Any assistance would be super appreciated!  

Thank you!!

Chris

Model: R8000|Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Smart WIFI Router
Message 1 of 11

Accepted Solutions
VJOGuy
Aspirant

Are you sure I haven't exhausted those avenues already?

I've asked one question.  I have zero answers to it.  In the process of asking, I've answered three questions, none of which help solve the problem at hand, nor get any closer to answering my question.

The suggestion to start from the beginning by stating what the problem attempting to be solved is, is fair.  However, I've done that...for months to this point in time.

The question is NOT whether you think my request for instructions will or will not solve the problem!  The question is, can you tell me how to do that?  It begs a simple response...yes...or no!  And if yes, what are the instructions.   The rest, my friends, is extraneous and opinions that were not being sought.

Instead, we've now wasted 24 hours with answering questions with questions.  This, friends, is why these boards are often frustrating to the average human being!  Next time, just try answering that damn question, and leave it at that!  

No need to respond.  It's clearly not possible.

View solution in original post

Message 10 of 11

All Replies

@VJOGuy wrote:

I've been told I need to create "Custom DNS Server" on my Netgear router. 

Why?