Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

DNS HELL

IHateArmor
Guide

DNS HELL

Ever since "upgrading" to V1.0.4.76_10.1.82.    The new "Armor" security is causing DNS nightmares.   It is slow and constantly block sites and downloads.   I can't even download an older version of the firmware to get back to normal functions.

Netgear needs to get that crap off their routers or its the last product I ever buy from them.

Model: R8000|Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Smart WIFI Router
Message 1 of 12

Accepted Solutions
IHateArmor
Guide

Re: DNS HELL

I've been using Netgear for two decades.  This is by far the worst experience I've had with their products.

As an experiment I did the following steps:

downgraded V1.0.4.52_10.1.67

Disabled Armor - DNS issues went away

Re-updated to firmware V1.0.4.76_10.1.82 - DNS issues came back

downgraded again to V1.0.4.52_10.1.67 - DNS issues went away.

A can confirm at least on my model V1.0.4.52_10.1.67 is not working properly. 

Netgear needs to get rid of Armor.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 12

All Replies
IHateArmor
Guide

Update:   Downgraded to firmware V1.0.4.52_10.1.67 and the DNS issues are better.      Looks like firmware V1.0.4.76_10.1.82 is complete junk.

Message 2 of 12
plemans
Guru

We've seen the dns issue across multiple product lines after this latest round of updates. 

I'm sure netgear is aware of it but they don't release when fixes or if there aware of issues until the fixes actually happen. 

Message 3 of 12
IHateArmor
Guide

I've been using Netgear for two decades.  This is by far the worst experience I've had with their products.

Re-updated to firmware V1.0.4.76_10.1.82 - DNS issues came back

downgraded again to V1.0.4.52_10.1.67 - DNS issues went away.

A can confirm at least on my model V1.0.4.52_10.1.67 is not working properly. 

Netgear needs to get rid of Armor.

Message 4 of 12
plemans
Guru

I'm not a huge fan of armor and don't use it. so you won't see me protesting removing armor.