DO NOT UPGRADE TO R7000 Firmware Version 1.0.9.60

0mega
Initiate

DO NOT UPGRADE TO R7000 Firmware Version 1.0.9.60

People - do NOT upgrade to firmware 1.0.9.60. This firmware rendered the r7000 semi-useless - AC (5Ghz) network kept dropping every 10-20 minutes, and the 2.4GHz (n,g) connection was super slow.

I tried factory reset, disabling all 'non needed' features' - etc - no luck.

After blaming the cable company for the disconnects and shrinking the device list to 2  (one on 2.4 and other on 5Ghz) - the only fix was to go back to the previous firmware - 1.0.9.42 - which fixed ALL  issues.

Note - on 1.0.9.60 - even hardwired connections would drop. I removed DHCP from the router and went all static, disabled UPNP and routing protocols - nothing worked. 

NETGEAR - get your crap straight - how can you release such a horrible/buggy firmware? Don't you test things before you release (alpha,beta testings must not exist there) - I'm a quite savy network pro - and even I ended up pulling my hair out, so think about the non-tech savy user's experience (that's how you lose customers for life). 

Releasing flawed firmare like this is basically begging people to go to Tomato...

Model: R7000|AC1900 Smart WIFI Router
Message 1 of 86
schumaku
Guru

Re: DO NOT UPGRADE TO R7000 Firmware Version 1.0.9.60

Well, I've asked why 1.0.9.60 wasn't revoked completely instead of just disabling the live update. 

Message 2 of 86
myersw
Master

@schumaku wrote:

Well, I've asked why 1.0.9.60 wasn't revoked completely instead of just disabling the live update. 

@schumaku

And that is a wonderful question. Just goes along with the other WONDERFULL ???? support that Netgear provides. If you are going to remove you remove from all sites not just the router update site. netgear is being run by idiots right now with no improvement in site.