Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Ethernet not recognized

lvthatlaugh
Tutor

Ethernet not recognized

House electricity went out last night. Router would not recognize ethernet afterwards. Called internet provider -modem and ethernet cable working fine. Tried to reset router, didn't help. Performed loop back and router IS recognizing the cable and BOTH ports (lights on). What do I do now? If loop test works what's next?
Model: R7000P|Nighthawk AC2300 Smart WiFi Router with MU-MIMO
Message 1 of 12

Accepted Solutions
lvthatlaugh
Tutor

Thanks! I'm actually an expert at turning them off and back on in the right order. Exchange my router for a new one and it worked fine. Obviously something went wrong with the power outage. Not sure why, we have a $65 surge protector. But wifi is on now and the family is happy once again!

View solution in original post

Message 11 of 12

All Replies
William10a
Master

Did you lose your internet but your devices still connect with a no internet warning on them?

If so try this remove power from both the modem and router, wait about two minutes, reapply power to the modem and wait two minutes for it too fully reboot, reapply power to the router wait for to fully reboot.

If not what happen please give more details?

Message 2 of 12
lvthatlaugh
Tutor

We did that. Unplugged both router and modem, waited and replugged in several times. After everything I thought the ethernet port on the router might not be working but then I saw the loop back. I plugged a cord in port 2 then into the ethernet port and the light is on for both. But when I plug the ethernet cord in the light doesn't come on. Thank you for trying to help me.
When I run the genie on my computer it says ethernet not found.
Message 3 of 12
William10a
Master

Not the lan cables the power cables allow the two devices to discharge the caps inside of them boot int the modem and router in this order allows the modem and  router to find their correct order in the network.