mpv23
Aspirant

Fios + Nighthawk + Gateway Router

Hello, I'm new to this all.

We've all read the article "Will my NETGEAR router work wtih Verizon Fios?". I've also spent considerable time researching my below question but wanted some more input. 

I just upgraded to Fios gigbit internet + TV (with a TV box). My apartment has concrete walls and the Fios router (a G1100 Quantum Gateway) has seemingly poor coverage. There are dead spots near the back of the apartment. Even next to the Fios router, my speeds are extremely subpar. 

I would like to now implement my Nighthawk X4s AC2600 to get better coverage and hopefully faster speeds. 

My question is: Will setting up my Nighthawk as AP with the Fios router help my cause? Keep in mind, I have TV also connected through Fios, and I've read that scrapping the Fios router alltogether and using the Nighthawk as the primary router means I lose Video on Demand, which I can't have. Will setting up the Nighthawk as AP increase my coverage? What about speed? Any and all input is very welcome. 

Thanks 

Model: R7800|Nighthawk X4S AC2600 WiFi Router
Message 1 of 5
mpv23
Aspirant

Re: Fios + Nighthawk + Gateway Router

So I set up the router in AP mode. 

Signal to the back areas of my apartment improved modestly. Still not great. 

Would going through the work of setting up the Nighthawk as the primary router (while maintaining VoD and guide for my STB) be worth the effort or is AP vs. primary not a determinent of wifi speed? 

Message 2 of 5
Sabertooth
Aspirant