Re: Horrible Netgear Support

alltelagent32
Follower

Horrible Netgear Support

First, let me say that I am not one to usually post on a community forum, but after just getting off the phone with Netgear support I was compelled to write this. I have a Netgear Nighthawk R7000P wireless router that I’ve been using for about 8 months now. Over the past 3 months the 5.0GHz radio has been malfunctioning. The 5.0GHz radio would stop working, therefore all devices on that band would disconnect. After power cycling the router, the radio would work for about another 24 to 48 hours, then would stop working again. I of course checked for firmware updates, reset the router to factory settings (knowing full well this was not a configuration issue), all that non-sense and finally after putting up with this issue for nearly 3 months, the 5.0GHz radio stopped working for the last time. Power cycling the router did no good and after reading other online forums, I learned that I am not the only one experiencing this issue. I was forced to move all my devices to the 2.4GHz SSID. Against my better judgement, I decided to call Netgear customer service. I waited on the phone for approximately 5 minutes before my call was taken. The support representative asked for the serial number of my device, then confirmed my contact information and finally inquired about the color of the LED lights on the wireless router. I patiently complied with all his requests, but as soon as I told him the LED lights were all white, he immediately attempted to dismiss my issue and sell me their “Gearhead” support. He insisted that this was not a hardware issue and that I must pay for Gearhead support if I wanted additional troubleshooting to determine hardware failure. Netgear provides a standard 1-year hardware warranty on their wireless routers. I simply do not understand how they can definitively determine hardware failure based upon whether the LED is amber, red or white (I get that the whatever Linux kerne