Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: How do I use the Netgear Genie app -Step by Step

mickey7
Aspirant

How do I use the Netgear Genie app -Step by Step

So Folks, HOW do I use the Genie app? No Clue. I have a Chromebook , so I can use the genie on it. Not compatible. I want to know how to change channel, if needed. etc. Please Help someone. I am a Newbie/Novice. Thanks.

Model: R6700|Nighthawk AC1750 Smart WiFi Router
Message 1 of 16

Accepted Solutions

The latest firmware for this router comes with "Added support for SHA256 certificates in lieu of MD5 for OpenVPN":

R6700 Firmware Version 1.0.1.48 | Answer | NETGEAR Support

for the V2 variant:

R6700v2 Firmware Version 1.2.0.24 | Answer | NETGEAR Support

"Supports SHA256 certificates instead of MD5 for OpenVPN".

View solution in original post

Message 11 of 16

All Replies

Greetings,

Netgear Support portal

Put in your model number and download the user guide for your router.  You do not need Genie for windows or a mobile app.  You can fully install and manage your router using nothing more than an internet browser.

Message 2 of 16
mickey7
Aspirant

I have a Chromebook. Chromebook is NOT Compatible with the netgear router login. So...I have downloaded the android app to my Samsung tablet. I repeat, How do I use this APP?? Thanks.
Message 3 of 16

@mickey7 wrote:
How do I use this APP??

Hard to know without any clue as to what you want to achieve.

• Turn on tablet.
  • Install app
  • Run app
  • Connect to wifi from R6700 (see label for SSID and password)
  • Login to manage
  • Do whatever it is that you want to do.

There is a manual for the genie Mobile App somewhere at the end of this link:

>>>> genie Landing Page <<<<

Message 4 of 16
mickey7
Aspirant