Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2013-11-01

How to assign a static IP address for my PC

Hi guys. I use my office PC as a movie server. I would like to put my PC to sleep and use a wake on LAN app on my phone to wake the PC instead of going into the room to turn the PC on. The PC needs to have a static IP address for the app to work.

Is this easy to do with the just the router itself? Does it matter if my PC is on a switch? Anyone have the time to walk a newbie through the steps?
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 963
Registered: ‎2009-11-30

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

What are you using to run the network? Which modem/router? R7000?

That will have ways of fixing an IP address. Look in the manual. Page 100-101.

What are you using to wake up the PC? It is often possible to use the PC's mac address to wake up something.
Modem Routers: DGND4000, D6400
Powerline:XWN5001, XAVB5101, XWNB5201, XAVB5421
WiFi: WN2000RPT, WNDA3100
Ethernet Switch: GS108v3 ProSafe 8-Port Gigabit
Security camera: Arlo Q Plus
Moderator
Posts: 8,423
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

First - static addresses are set at the PC, and are what are known as logical addresses, dependent on the PC's operating system to be running - what this means is when the PC is off, the OS is not running and it has no ip address.

For this reason Wake-on-LAN does NOT depend on ip addresses, and any Wake-on-LAN application that requires an ip address is poorly written - the MAC address of the PC's network adapter is what is required - please be aware that both the network adapter and the PC BIOS must support Wake-on-LAN for it to work.

Assuming you're running Windows, open the network adapter properties, select tcp/ip and go to properties, you can enter the ip address there.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2013-11-01

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

Thanks for the replies guys. I forget what app it was. But it was about a year ago when I tried it. It did work with my rig but my landlord had control of the router and the IP address kept changing. Ff a year later, bought a house and trying to learn all I can about networking and sharing files across many devices and pcs in the house.

I'm using win7 x64. Bios supports it. Using the nighthawk r7000.

If I can use a wake on LAN app that uses the MAC address instead of requiring a static ip that would be even easier. Can you guys recommend such an app? I have iOS devices. I will look too. Free is me but if it is worth it I don't mind shelling out a few duckets. Thanks.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

There is few app in iOS that free for paid on network utility that can do wake up your LAN device when you are the same network

I would suggest to use static IP any way something that is permanent .
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2013-11-01

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

jmizoguchi wrote:
There is few app in iOS that free for paid on network utility that can do wake up your LAN device when you are the same network

I would suggest to use static IP any way something that is permanent .


jmizoguchi, why is it that every time you reply to one of my posts you do nothing more than just repeat my question. Can you recommend any apps? Can you recommend a common way that people configure their pc to haver a static ip address? Don't mean to be nasty.
Looking for help.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

I'm not repeating

Good luck
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,349
Registered: ‎2008-04-22

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

For WOL I use RDP Lite it's free app I use on a 4s, locally only.
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎2013-12-23

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

To setup Static IP's use, Advanced, Setup, LAN Setup.

I always setup the DCHP server to handout IP's in a range of 51 to 250.

I then assign static IP's in the range 2 to 50.

Using this method ties the MAC address to the static IP.

You will need to reboot the router once you have made the changes.

Reboot the PC (or renew the IP with ipconfig) to assign the new fixed IP.

Assigning a fixed IP on a laptop via the network adapter in control panel is not a good idea as you will have to change it if you travel.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 963
Registered: ‎2009-11-30

Re: How to assign a static IP address for my PC

In light of the fact that few of the replies here are directly related to the question, I will throw in another off-topic suggestion, albeit one that is in tune with "trying to learn all I can about networking and sharing files across many devices and pcs in the house".

A good WOL app for a PC is: WakeMeOnLan from Nirsoft.

For PCs I'm afraid. But you never know when you may need this function. This will also tell you the MAC addresses of stuff on your network.

Here I used to fix IP addresses for everything, but then decided to restrict it to things where I do need to know the IP address to login. For example, I have a bunch of NAS boxes. Then again, I wake them up through their MAC addresses.

It can also help to fix the IP addresses of wifi repeaters for the same reason. But you can often get at these by looking up the IP address in the network map and going in that way.
Modem Routers: DGND4000, D6400
Powerline:XWN5001, XAVB5101, XWNB5201, XAVB5421
WiFi: WN2000RPT, WNDA3100
Ethernet Switch: GS108v3 ProSafe 8-Port Gigabit
Security camera: Arlo Q Plus
Discussion Stats
  • 13 replies
  • 7392 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 6 in conversation
Top Contributors
User Kudos Count
90
51
42
29
25