Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Internet drops on Nighthawk x6 R8000 (wifi is working)

Ajaz
Guide

Internet drops on Nighthawk x6 R8000 (wifi is working)

Hi,

My trusted Nighthawk R8000 which I've been using for several years has started to play up recently. It is currently connected to a BT Openreach device with a BT Broadband Fiber 2 package.

Issues I'm facing, the router shows a white light for the internet and all wifi bands are up and running however there is no internet access, i.e, loss of access to the internet (not the router). 

I have checked the router is on the latest firmware v1.0.4.76.

Remdeial step taken: Reset the router settings and set it up from scratch - This did solve the problem for a few days but the problem has reappeared. 

Can someone advise on any alternative steps that I could take?

Message 1 of 17
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Internet drops on Nighthawk x6 R8000 (wifi is working)

I'd ask the ISP to see if they notice anything in there logs during the time frames when this happens.

Both wired and wireless devices fail to get internet when this happens? 

Has a factory reset and setup from scratch been performed since last update? Might try this and also power OFF both ISP modem/ONT for a good full minute or more then back ON. Complete the setup wizard on the router. 

Be sure your using good quality LAN cable between the modem/ONT and the router. CAT6 is recommended. 

Message 2 of 17
Ajaz
Guide

Hi FURRYe38,
The ISP is no help because they don't support third party routers. I have a standalone PC connected using a LAN Cable (cat6) which also losses Internet access. This PC is one of the reasons I use the R8000 because I remotely access this device when working remotely and have RDS - Port Forwarding configured.
My set up hasn't changed over the past 6 years the only thing that has is the ISP and most recently BT installed the ONT device when I signed up to them. The problem started occurring as soon as I started with BT (moved from Virgin Media).