More devices on router

NightKITTEN321
Apprentice

More devices on router

Hello,

I have approximately 22 devices showing on my router. But I only have 14-15. And I’ve had these same devices for years. Recently my speeds have dropped dramatically. From mid 20Mbps to 2-6Mbps. My IP is saying it’s all the devices. Is there a way to at least delete the old devices that no longer use the router to show them speeds are still slow even with less devices showing? I’m a noob to routers so I apologize if this is simple fix. Thanks

God Bless
Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 38
antinode
Guru

Re: More devices on router

> I have approximately 22 devices showing on my router. But I only have
> 14-15. [...]

The non-psychics in your audience can't see what's "showing on [your]
router", nor which of those devices are ones which you don't recognize.
At what, exactly, are you looking?  Attached Devices?  Address
Reservations?  What, exactly, do you see?  Copy+paste is your friend.

> [...] Recently my speeds have dropped dramatically. From mid 20Mbps to
2-6Mbps. My IP is saying it's all the devices. [...]

"ISP"?  ("IP" = Internet Protocol.  "ISP" = Internet Service
Provider.)  Knowing nothing about how that conclusion was reached, I
can't judge its validity.  One busy device could cause bigger problems
than a flock of idle devices.

> [...] Is there a way to at least delete the old devices that no longer
> use the router to show them speeds are still slow even with less devices
> showing? [...]

Cycle the power on the router?  If you're looking at an Attached
Devices report, and the mystery devices still appear in that list, then
I'd bet that they are actual devices, no matter how many devices you
think that you have.

Otherwise, start powering down the devices which you can identify.

> God Bless

Which one?

Message 2 of 38
NightKITTEN321
Apprentice