Re: Netgear Nighthawk Ac1900 R700 & Virgin Hub 3.0

MrCaldwell
Aspirant

Netgear Nighthawk Ac1900 R700 & Virgin Hub 3.0

Hi all, 

I hope you can help me. I'm desperate to fix this. I have a Netgear Nighthawk Ac1900 R700. I have connected it to my Virgin Hub 3.0 via modem mode. The nighthawk has just been restored to factory and has the latest firmware as of today. 

The problem is, when a device connected to the nighthawk via eithernet with the above setup, i recieve 220mbps max.

With the Virgin Hub 3.0 not in router mode and a device connected directly to it via ethernet it recieves 300+mbps. 

So once i connect the nighthawk via modem mode the speed drops by 100+mbps. Is there something stopping the nighthawk reaching my service full potential which is 300mbps? 

If you are kind enough to respond with a solution i am a novice with terms and navigation around the netgear router site so a simple explanation will be appreciated. 

Thank you 

Message 1 of 4

@MrCaldwell wrote:

With the Virgin Hub 3.0 not in router mode and a device connected directly to it via ethernet it recieves 300+mbps. 

Can you clarify the "not in router mode" bit?

Previous conversations here suggest that it isn't that easy to put that device into bridge mode.

Did you try this?

Search - NETGEAR Communities – Virgin Hub

Just another user.

My network DM200 -> R7800 -> GS316 -> PL1000 -> Orbi RBR40 -> Orbi RBS50Y -> RBS40V
Message 2 of 4
MrCaldwell
Aspirant

Hi Michael, 

By not in router mode i mean the hub 3 being used as the router and providing internet to my device (such as ipad/laptop/iphone)

If by bridge mode you mean placing the hub 3.0 in modem mode and connecting the nighthawk to allow it be used as the device which provides my devices internet, i have successfully managed to do this with ease. 

Message 3 of 4
AndyCalling
Guide