Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: New to netgear

SaintJulio
Aspirant

New to netgear

Im planning to get a netgear and have a couple questions. Does Netgear need a modem to work or does it work as soon you connect the coax cable from the wall to the netgear will it work? Do you have to pay monthly like Xfinity for example? Im new to this and hopefully find an answer to this
Message 1 of 11

Accepted Solutions

@SaintJulio wrote:
Im planning to get a netgear and have a couple questions. Does Netgear need a modem to work or does it work as soon you connect the coax cable from the wall to the netgear will it work? Do you have to pay monthly like Xfinity for example?

A Netgear what?

What is the "coax cable from the wall"? It may or may not need a  modem, depending on what sort of Internet you get.

Ask your ##Internet service provider what equipment you need. It may offer to rent of sell you something. But most will let you use your own equipment

Xfinity is an ISP. All ISPs that I know of charge for access.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 11

All Replies
microchip8
Master

Yes, it needs a modem.
No, you don't have to pay monthly. It's your equipment.
Message 2 of 11
SaintJulio
Aspirant

Thank you so much for replying
Mind if i ask where i can buy a modem?
Message 3 of 11

@SaintJulio wrote:
Im planning to get a netgear and have a couple questions. Does Netgear need a modem to work or does it work as soon you connect the coax cable from the wall to the netgear will it work? Do you have to pay monthly like Xfinity for example?

A Netgear what?

What is the "coax cable from the wall"? It may or may not need a  modem, depending on what sort of Internet you get.

Ask your ##Internet service provider what equipment you need. It may offer to rent of sell you something. But most will let you use your own equipment

Xfinity is an ISP. All ISPs that I know of charge for access.

Message 4 of 11
SaintJulio
Aspirant

Thanks for writing back