Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Nighthawk AC1900 Connection Issues

Dunyduke16
Aspirant

Nighthawk AC1900 Connection Issues

I purchased the Nighthawk AC1900 router last spring.  I had been using the router provided by my cable company but was not satisfied with the coverage in my house.  Since I've had this new router, I've had consistent issues with the connection dropping.  I could be on my laptop on a Zoom call and I get booted out, browsing on my phone, etc.  The fix is a relatively quick one...just disconnect on the device and then reconnect.  I'm back up and running in seconds, but I pretty much deal with this issue at least daily.  I didn't have a chance to follow up with with Netgear during the window when they would have provided free customer support (90 days, I think), and paying for support costs about as much or more than the router itself.

I'm a generally tech savvy person, but not in terms of the innerworkings of wifi routers.  Hoping someone on here can steer me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance!

Model: R6900P|Nighthawk AC1900 Smart WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router
Message 1 of 18

Re: Nighthawk AC1900 Connection Issues

@Dunyduke16 wrote:

I purchased the Nighthawk AC1900 router last spring. 

Is that the R6900P in your footer  (Netgear has made around a dozen devices with the AC1900 label, which is no more than a wifi speed indicator used by many brands.) If so, what firmware version do you have on the device?

A number is more useful than "the latest". (It may not be by the time people read this.) There can also be newer versions, or "hot fixes", that do not show up if you check for new firmware in the browser interface.

It might also help if you told people what the modem is in front of this router, if there is one. The model number could be useful. Is it, by any chance, also a router, with a set of LAN ports on the back?