Highlighted
Aspirant

Nighthawk R7000 Slow Download Speeds

I've been using an R7000 Nighthawk AC1900 router for about two years now.  I've been slowly upgrading my DSL service speeds and my latest speeds until today topped out at about 25 Mbps that i was paying for.  The router was working well wired or via WiFi to match the speeds i was supposed to get for the service.  Today I had 80 Mbps service activiated through my DSL provider using bonded technology.  I should make it clear my MODEM is one supplied by my DSL provider and supports the 80 Mbps bonded technology (when i hook up a computer directly to the modem with an ethernet cable I'm getting 80+ Mbps).  However when i hookup the subject router to the modem via a ethernet cable I'm getting download speeds of about 22-23 Mbps whether I'm connecting to the router via WiFi or a direct ethernet cable to the router.  I did a power re-boot of the router hoping that it just needed to sense the new communication speeds but no change in the transfer rates.  Any suggestions that will allow me to gain the full 80 Mbps bandwidth?

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 11
Highlighted

Re: Nighthawk R7000 Slow Download Speeds

What firmware version do you have on the device?

A number is more useful than "the latest". (It may not be by the time people read this.) There can also be newer versions, or "hot fixes", that do not show up if you check for new firmware in the browser interface.

And what is the model of the modem?

Just another user.

My network DM200 -> R7800 -> GS316 -> PL1000 -> Orbi RBR40 -> Orbi RBS50Y -> RBS40V
Message 2 of 11
Highlighted
Aspirant

Thanks for taking the time to give me some input Michael.  Some details below to help:

• The modem is a zyxel C3000Z purchased from Century Link
  • Firmware version on the router is V1.0.9.42_10.2.44 which I see on Netgear's site is one behind the "current version" of 1.0.9.60
Message 3 of 11
Highlighted
Master