Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Nighthawk X4 AC2350

ajredaelli
Tutor

Nighthawk X4 AC2350

So I am a Comcast customer. I have their wifi modem/router. I also have another wifi router (Linksys). Just like many of you, we have Roku, Hulu, Netflix, etc. We also have Arlo cameras, a Ring door bell, cell phones, a couple of tablets, XBox, etc. We buy the highest speed package from Comcast, as I am also an omline instructor, so good reliable and fast signal is very important to me.

I am having a tough time getting service to the back of our modest 1700 sq ft home. I am getting ready to buy the Nighthawk X4 - which may be an overkill, but it seems like a good unit. I am particularly concerned about the Ring doorbell and the Arlo cameras having a solid signal.

I have a few questions about this change. 

1. Should I deactivate my other two Wi-Fis?

2. If I should keep my other two routers, should I move the Linksis to another room in the house?

3. Am I better off plugin my ethernet to my main desktop to the Nighthawk or to the Comcast unit?

4. Should the desktop be connected wirelesly or through the Ethernet cable?

I would appreciate any ideas on how to manage this. I am ordering my X4 today. On Amazon, the X4 is only $10 more than the Nighthawk AC1900, so I figured, why not buy the unit with the better processor, more antennas, etc. 

Thank you all.

Aldo

Model: R7500v2|Nighthawk X4 AC2350 Smart WiFi
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
TheEther
Guru

The effect of bridge mode is different on the Comcast versus the Nighthawk.  On the Comcast, you will very likely lose any Wi-Fi it was providing.  On the Nighthawk, you won't.  You will lose the firewall, port forwarding, QoS and traffic metering, to name a few features.  But these aren't needed in bridge mode.