Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Nighthawk X6 R8000 dropping internet

Wifeofshrek
Tutor

Nighthawk X6 R8000 dropping internet

Good morning,

BACKGROUND - We have had this router and it has been outstanding for over 2 years - hasn't missed a beat. I have very little technical knowledge when it comes to these things, (just a mum with teens and Netflix :)) and I don't think I have ever done an update or anything like that.  (should I? - How do I?)

ISSUE - In the past few weeks, we loose internet.  If I turn off the Nighthawk and leave for a minute, turn it back on everything comes back online.  I have checked the NBN when this happens and all is fine.  Any suggestions or do I need a new router?

Thank you so much in advance for any help.

Model: R8000|Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Smart WIFI Router
Message 1 of 20

Accepted Solutions

Greetings Australia,

1.0.4.18 is the latest FW available for your model.   It was released in May of this year.  When did it get upgraded?

I do not believe automatic update for this model was introduced until this FW version.  If the router has not been reset since this upgrade, I would start with that.  This will reset the router to defaults, keeping FW 1.0.4.18 installed.  You wlll need to rename your wireless broadcasts and enter your passwords again. 

Reset procedure

Advanced tab > Administration > Back Up Settings > [Erase] button    

Note: If you have any special settings, port forwarding, static IPs etc, you can copy these down before performing the reset.

View solution in original post

Message 5 of 20

All Replies

What firmware version do you have on the device?

A number is more useful than "the latest". (It may not be by the time people read this.) There can also be newer versions, or "hot fixes", that do not show up if you check for new firmware in the browser interface.

It might also help if you told people what the modem is in front of this router. The model number could be useful.

Message 2 of 20
Wifeofshrek
Tutor